Important information on coronavirus: Please see our information on Covid certification requirements from 4 October. Learn more

News The Schulthess Klinik is an AOSpine Centre

In April 2019, the Schulthess Klinik’s Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery Department was honoured to be named the third “AOSpine Centre” in Switzerland, alongside the University Hospitals of Basel and Bern. Dr. med. Dezsö J. Jeszenszky will be taking over the management of the AOSpine Centre.

Schulthess Klinik AO Spine Center

The AO Foundation was established in Biel in 1958. The specialisation in the field of spinal surgery originated as AO Spine in 2000. Today, AOSpine is the largest global network of spine surgeons, with more than 30,000 members worldwide.

Since 2011, highly specialised centres across the globe in the field of spinal surgery have been certified as AOSpine Centres. The certification primarily assessed the number of operations, the existing infrastructure for patient care and research, as well as the commitment to education and training. Over the next few years, the Schulthess Klinik plans to host spine surgeons from all over the world as AOSpine Centre guests for shorter or longer fellowship stays.

PD Dr. med. Markus Loibl represents the Orthopaedic department

Back in September 2018, PD Dr. med. Markus Loibl was elected to the Country Council of AOSpine Switzerland. As “Ortho Officer”, he will represent the interests of orthopaedic spine surgeons within AOSpine Switzerland during his three-year term of office. The Country Council’s activities focus on community development and planning and implementing the course programme for the next few years: the aim is to bring the various specialisations within spinal surgery in Switzerland (traumatology, orthopaedics and neurosurgery) closer together. A Country Council meeting has already been held at the Schulthess Klinik on 18 September 2018.

AO Spine Center Country Council
From left to right: the current AOSpine Switzerland Country Council: PD Dr. med. Markus Loibl, Schulthess Klinik, Zurich (Ortho Officer), PD Dr. med. Sven Hoppe, University Hospital of Bern, Bern (Chairman) and PD Dr. med. Gregory Jost, University Hospital Basel (Neuro Officer)