Important information on coronavirus: Please comply with our visiting rules and the obligation to wear a mask throughout the clinic premises. Learn more

Consultant PD Dr. med. Markus Loibl

Dr. med. Markus Loibl Spezialist Wirbelsäule

Position and faculty

Consultant Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery

To the department Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery


Infiltration of the lumbar spine (sacral block, facet joint infiltration, root infiltration, medial branch, ISG infiltration)

Lumbar disc herniation / disc hernia lumbar spine

Cervical disc herniation / disc hernia cervical spine

Narrowed lumbar nerve channel / spinal canal (stenosis)

Cervical narrowed spinal canal (stenosis)

Instability of the spinal column / arthrosis

Vertebral fracture in osteoporosis

Spinal cord tumor / cysts / tumors of the spinal cord sheaths

Curvature of the spinal column (scoliosis)





Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery
Phone hours
Mo–Th 08.00–17.00
Fr 08.00–16.00
Sa–Su Closed

Medical specialisation

Orthopaedics and Trauma Surgery (DE)

Certificates of proficiency

Master Certificate of the German Society for Spine Surgery (DWG)

European Spine Course Diploma (EUROSPINE)

Certificate of Training in Radiation Protection

Additional qualification in emergency medicine


since 01/2021

Consultant Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery, Schulthess Klinik


Consultant Spine Surgery, Orthopaedics and Neurosurgery, Schulthess Klinik


Spine Fellowship, Schulthess Klinik
(Dr. med. Dezsö Jeszenszky)


Resident and Chief Resident Trauma Surgery, Universitätsklinikum Regensburg 
(Prof. Dr. med. Michael Nerlich)


Resident Surgery/Orthopaedics, Spital Davos 
(Dr. med.
Christian Ryf, Dr. med. Paavo Rillmann, Dr. med. Thomas Perren)


Research Fellowship AO research institute, Davos
(Prof. Dr. Mauro Alini)

Education and training

since 04/2017

Teaching licence for orthopaedics and trauma surgery at the University of Regensburg


Habilitation am Lehrstuhl für Unfallchirurgie, Universität Regensburg mit dem Thema «Wirkung von autologen Wachstumsfaktoren in der mesenchymalen Stammzelltherapie muskuloskelettaler Erkrankungen» (Prof. Dr. med. Michael Nerlich)


United States Medical Licensing Examination (ECFMG Certificate)


Doctorate at the Chair for Preventive and Rehabilitative Sports Medicine, Technische Universität München
(Prof. Dr. med. Martin Halle)


Study of Medicine, Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich

Study visits:

Schulthess Klinik, Orthopaedics

Queen Mary’s School of Medicine, London, Cardiology

University of Southern California, Los Angeles, General Surgery

University of Cape Town, Kapstadt, General Surgery

Scientific activities

applied research in the field of spinal surgery and traumatology

Basic research in the field of regenerative medicine

Advisory Review Board Member Journal of Orthopaedic Research (JOR) Spine

Regular reviewer for international journals such as European Cells and Materials (eCM), Tissue Engineering


AO Spine (Member of the Country Council of Switzerland as representative of the Orthopaedic Department, Ortho Officer)

AO Trauma

EUROSPINE, the Spine Society of Europe

German Society for Trauma Surgery DGU

Association of Bavarian Surgeons VBC

Awards and honours

EUROSPINE Best Podium Presentation Award 2019, Helsinki, Finnland. Loibl M, Massen FK, Fekete T, Haschtmann D, Kleinstück F, Jeszenszky D, Porchet F, Mannion AF. «Spino-pelvic alignment after short segment transforaminal lumbar interbody fusion (TLIF) Is correction possible and worthwhile?».

GOTS Young Investigator Award 2015, Basel, Schweiz. Lang S, Brockhoff G, Gueorguiev B, Angele P, Prantl L, Nerlich M, Gehmert S, Loibl M. «Zentrifugationsmodifikation zur Reduktion der Leukozytenzahl in PRP und die Auswirkung auf die Proliferation von autologen mesenchymalen Stammzellen».

Grants and stipends

Reisestipendium Deutsche Gesellschaft für Unfallchirurgie 2016

University of San Francisco California
Orthopaedic Trauma Institute, San Francisco, USA
Trauma Surgery (Chairman: Dr. Theodore Miclau III, MD)

Reisestipendium AO Deutschland 2014

Thomas Jefferson University
Rothman Institute, Philadelphia, USA
Spine Surgery (Chairman: Dr. Alexander Vaccaro, MD, PhD, MBA)

Reisestipendium AO Trauma 2013

Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, USA
Trauma Surgery (Chairman: Dr. Marc Vrahas, MD)