Important information on coronavirus: Please comply with our visiting rules and the obligation to wear a mask throughout the clinic premises. Learn more

Acting as CYBATHLON medical partner – our commitment to a humane approach, innovation and top-class medical services

A competition in which people with physical disabilities compete against each other to complete everyday tasks using state-of-the-art technical assistance systems – this is CYBATHLON 2020. Schulthess Klinik is supporting the event as a medical partner.

This is CYBATHLON

CYBATHLON is a project initiated by ETH Zurich that offers a platform to help promote development of assistance systems suitable for everyday use and which increases awareness of the challenges faced by people with disabilities. Teams from all over the world compete in six different disciplines:

  • Powered Arm Prosthesis Race
  • Powered Leg Prosthesis Race
  • Powered Exoskeleton Race (“external support” fitted to the body)
  • Powered Wheelchair Race
  • Functional Electrical Stimulation Bike Race
  • Brain-Computer Interface Race

Global and in a brand-new format

The coronavirus pandemic also posed new challenges for the CYBATHLON team. CYBATHLON 2020 will now be held in a global format on 13 and 14 November 2020 – wherever the teams live. Instead of starting directly next to each other, the pilots will start individually in their own countries, under the supervision of CYBATHLON officials. The competitions will be broadcast live on a new platform. Those who watch the event will be able to see for themselves how innovative assistance technology can support people with physical disabilities with everyday tasks.

This is why we are supporting CYBATHLON

Schulthess Klinik focuses on people and how they move with the basic values of top-class medical services, a humane approach and innovation. CYBATHLON also embodies these values.

«Outstanding performance made possible by brilliant innovations and close cooperation in a team – all in an effort to help people who need assistance – we are pleased to be able to support a project as meaningful as CYBATHLON by serving as a medical partner.» Andrea Rytz, CEO of Schulthess Klinik

This is how we are supporting CYBATHLON

As part of our comprehensive commitment, we are making our services available to CYBATHLON 2020 as a medical partner in particular. The medical partnership comprises medical checks for pilots to ensure safety and fair starting conditions. 

The medical checks

The pilots undergo a medical check before they can start competing in their discipline. The Schulthess Klinik medical team is responsible for the medical preparation for and implementation of these medical checks. In the new global format, we will assess each of the starting pilots in conjunction with a specialist on site via a remote examination. The specialists on site are carefully recruited in advance and briefed about the examination. Depending on the discipline, our medical team checks other aspects with the local specialists, including neurological tests in particular.

The medical checks ensure the safety of the pilots and guarantee fair starting conditions.

Impressions of the Medical Checks in the clinic and by remote examination.

The medical team

The medical team is led by the two neurologists Prof. Jiří Dvořák and Dr Zina-Mary Manjaly. They both have extensive experience in clinical work directly with patients as well as in scientific research activities. 

Thanks to Schulthess Klinik’s interdisciplinary approach, they frequently exchange ideas with other specialist departments at Schulthess Klinik. Surgical and conservative disciplines, as well as internal medicine and research, go hand in hand with neurology and can be consulted if required, including for the CYBATHLON medical checks.

 
Dr. med. Zina-Mary Manjaly Spezialistin Neurologie

Dr. med. Zina-Mary Manjaly

Consultant Neurology
 
 
Prof. Jiri Dvorak

Prof. Dr. med. Jiří Dvořák

Consultant to the board / Neurology, Spine Unit
 

Neurology: a close look at nerves

Our musculoskeletal system would come to a standstill without a functioning nervous system. This is why close cooperation between orthopaedic surgeons and neurologists is essential.

The specialists in our Neurology department offer the full range of neurology diagnosis and treatment services. Along with addressing common neurological conditions, our team also conducts complex interdisciplinary assessments and treatments. In particular, the complex structure of the spine requires close examination of the sensory nerve pathways. This is why the Neurology department at Schulthess Klinik has been focusing on it extensively since the 1980s. Patients benefit from joint assessments by Spine Surgery and Neurology as they enable our physicians to select a conservative and/or surgical treatment that offers the greatest chance of success.

MIOM ensures a high degree of safety when spine surgery is performed

The multimodal intraoperative monitoring (MIOM) procedure utilised by our Neurology department makes an important contribution to ensuring the safety of patients who undergo spine surgery. With MIOM, we monitor the nervous system during the procedure and support the patient through complex operations with the greatest possible degree of safety.

Research and teaching for the patients

Innovation and documentation are needed to make patient treatments even better and safer and this is why Schulthess Klinik has a long tradition in research activities.

Our Teaching, Research and Development department works together with the clinic’s other departments, and the scientific work the department carries out helps improve patient care. The department’s research teams work closely with physicians at the clinic. Our patients benefit from the resulting exchange of scientific information, which is incorporated into everyday clinical practice at our facility. We also share our knowledge with colleagues in Switzerland and abroad through our publications, teaching activities and partnerships, as our goal is to continually expand the possibilities offered by orthopaedic medicine.

Quality also means always knowing how the patient is doing. That is why we stay close to our patients at Schulthess Klinik – even after their treatment has been completed, as we want to know how they are doing then as well. Our long-standing tradition of research also includes more than 136,000 patient surveys that have been conducted since 2004. These surveys help us ensure that treatments can continue to be made even better and safer.

Find out more about our research.

 

The Wilhelm Schulthess Foundation

Schulthess Klinik has been supported by the non-profit Wilhelm Schulthess Foundation since 1935. People, their mobility and quality of life are at the heart of our day-to-day work. We devote all our energy to providing our patients with the best possible care and ensuring their quick recovery. We are also helping to make treatments better and safer with our long-standing tradition of research.

In our role as a foundation, we invest heavily in the fields of teaching and R&D, and thus support the projects undertaken by our research teams. 

Find out more about the Wilhelm Schulthess Foundation

Cooperation between Schulthess Klinik and ETH Zurich

We maintain a long-standing research and teaching partnership with ETH Zurich which incorporates clinical questions into the research performed by ETH and in this manner promotes the use of new technologies when treating patients with musculoskeletal problems. 

For example, we are pleased to be part of the Reha Initiative that is designed to improve the quality of life of people with physical limitations and enable them to take part in normal daily activities as much as possible. In order to improve research in this area, ETH has launched the new Master’s degree programme in Rehabilitation Science and Technology. The Wilhelm Schulthess Foundation is funding a professorship for Data Science Applications for Personalised Health Services, which is part of this Master’s programme.

The partnership with ETH also involves numerous courses taught by our specialists. For example, researchers and doctors from Schulthess Klinik hold a Demonstration Week to introduce the topic of «Clinical Research» to students in ETH's Department of Health Sciences and Technology. The course on «Physical Examination of the Musculoskeletal and Nervous System» is available at Schulthess Klinik for students in the Human Medicine programme.

We are delighted to be part of CYBATHLON 2020 as a partner in another exciting and significant ETH project.

Wichtige Information zum Coronavirus: Bitte beachten Sie die neuen Bestimmungen zur Covid-Zertifikatspflicht ab 4. Oktober. Mehr erfahren

Medical Partner des CYBATHLONS: Ein Engagement für Menschlichkeit, Innovation und Spitzenmedizin

Menschen mit Behinderungen messen sich im Wettkampf beim Meistern alltagsrelevanter Aufgaben. Dies mit Hilfe modernster technischer Assistenzsysteme – das ist der CYBATHLON 2020. Die Schulthess Klinik unterstützt den Anlass als Medical Partner.

Das ist der CYBATHLON

Der CYBATHLON ist ein Projekt der ETH Zürich und bietet eine Plattform, um die Forschung rund um alltagstaugliche Assistenzsysteme voranzutreiben und das Thema auch der Öffentlichkeit näher zu bringen. Dabei messen sich Teams aus aller Welt in sechs verschiedenen Disziplinen:

  • Geschicklichkeitsparcours mit Armprothesen
  • Hindernisparcours mit Beinprothesen
  • Parcours mit robotischen Exoskeletten (an den Körper angepasste «externe Gerüste»)
  • Parcours mit motorisierten Rollstühlen
  • Fahrradrennen mit Muskelstimulation
  • virtuelle Rennen mit Gedankensteuerung

Global und in ganz neuem Format

Die Corona-Pandemie hat auch das CYBATHLON-Team vor neue Herausforderungen gestellt. Der CYBATHLON 2020 findet neu im globalen Format vom 13. bis 14. November 2020 statt – überall dort, wo die Teams zu Hause sind. Statt direkt nebeneinander starten die Piloten also einzeln, unter der Aufsicht von CYBATHLON-​Offiziellen, in ihren Ländern. Die Wettkämpfe werden auf einer neuen Plattform live übertragen. Die Zuschauer können so live erleben, wie innovative Assistenztechnologie Menschen mit Behinderungen im Alltag unterstützt.

Darum unterstützen wir den CYBATHLON

Der Fokus der Schulthess Klinik sind der Mensch und dessen Bewegung. Dies mit den Grundwerten Spitzenmedizin, Menschlichkeit und Innovation. Diese Werte verkörpert auch der CYBATHLON.

«Spitzenleistung dank genialer Innovation und enger Zusammenarbeit im Team – und dies zur Unterstützung von Menschen, die darauf angewiesen sind – wir freuen uns, mit dem CYBATHLON ein so sinnvolles Projekt als Medical Partner zu unterstützen.» Andrea Rytz, CEO Schulthess Klinik

So unterstützen wir den CYBATHLON

Im Rahmen unseres umfassenden Engagements stehen wir dem CYBATHLON 2020 insbesondere als Medical Partner zur Verfügung. Die Medical Partnerschaft beinhaltet namentlich die Medical Checks der Pilotinnen und Piloten, um für Sicherheit und faire Ausgangsbedingungen zu sorgen. 

Die Medical Checks

Bevor die Pilotinnen und Piloten in ihren Disziplinen starten dürfen, absolvieren sie einen Medical Check. Die Verantwortung für die medizinische Vorbereitung und Durchführung dieser Medical Checks liegt beim Medical Team der Schulthess Klinik. Im neuen globalen Format beurteilen wir so jeden der startenden Piloten in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Spezialisten vor Ort via eine Remote-Untersuchung. Die Spezialisten vor Ort werden im Vorfeld sorgfältig rekrutiert und für die Untersuchung gebrieft. Je nach Disziplin untersucht unser Medical Team mit den Spezialisten vor Ort andere Aspekte. Dazu gehören insbesondere neurologische Tests.

Die Medical Checks stellen die Sicherheit der Piloten sicher und gewähren faire Ausgangsbedingungen.

Eindrücke der Medical Checks in der Klinik und via Remote-Untersuchung

Das Medical Team

Die Leitung des Medical Teams besteht aus den zwei Neurologen Prof. Dr. med. Jiří Dvořák und Dr. med. Zina-Mary Manjaly. Beide verfügen über eine umfassende Erfahrung - sowohl in der klinischen Arbeit direkt am Patienten als auch in der wissenschaftlichen Forschungstätigkeit. 

Dank der interdisziplinären Aufstellung der Schulthess Klinik pflegen sie einen engen Austausch mit den anderen Fachabteilungen der Schulthess Klinik: Chirurgische und konservative Disziplinen, Innere Medizin und Forschung arbeiten Hand in Hand mit der Neurologie und können bei Bedarf - auch für die Medical Checks beim CYBATHLON - konsultiert werden.

Neurologie: Die Nerven genau im Blick

Ohne funktionierendes Nervengerüst gerät unser Bewegungsapparat ins Stocken. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit von orthopädischen Chirurgen und Neurologen ist deshalb naheliegend.

Die Spezialisten unserer Neurologie bieten Diagnostik und Therapie im gesamten Spektrum der Neurologie an. Die Behandlung häufiger neurologischer Krankheitsbilder gehört dabei ebenso zum Leistungsspektrum wie komplexe fachgebietsübergreifende Abklärungen und Behandlungen. Insbesondere die komplexe Struktur der Wirbelsäule verlangt einen genauen Blick auf die Nervenbahnen. Die Wirbelsäule ist deshalb seit den 80er-Jahren ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der Neurologie der Schulthess Klinik. Patienten profitieren so von der gemeinsamen Beurteilung durch die Wirbelsäulenchirurgie und die Neurologie und damit jeweils von der erfolgversprechendsten konservativen und/oder operativen Therapiemassnahme.

Hohe Sicherheit bei Wirbelsäulenoperationen dank MIOM

Einen massgeblichen Beitrag zur Sicherheit von Wirbelsäulenoperationen leistet unsere Neurologie mit Hilfe des «Multimodalen Intraoperativen Monitorings (MIOM)». Mit dem MIOM überwachen wir das Nervensystem während des Eingriffs und begleiten so die Patienten mit optimal möglicher Sicherheit durch komplexe Operationen.

Forschung und Lehre für die Patienten

Damit Patientenbehandlungen immer besser und sicherer werden, braucht es Innovation und Dokumentation. Die Forschungstätigkeit der Schulthess Klinik hat deshalb eine lange Tradition.

Unsere Abteilung Lehre, Forschung und Entwicklung arbeitet mit den klinischen Abteilungen zusammen und trägt mit ihren wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten so zur Verbesserung der Patientenbehandlungen bei. Dabei arbeiten die Forschungsteams sehr eng mit den klinisch tätigen Ärzten zusammen. Die Patienten profitieren so von den wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen, die direkt in den klinischen Alltag einfliessen. Unser Wissen geben wir an Kollegen im In- und Ausland weiter: mit Publikationen, Lehrtätigkeiten und Kooperationen. Denn wir wollen die Möglichkeiten der orthopädischen Medizin stets vorantreiben.

Qualität bedeutet auch, zu wissen, wie es den Patienten geht. In der Schulthess Klinik begleiten wir unsere Patienten deshalb eng. Auch nach der Behandlung, denn wir wollen wissen, wie es ihnen danach geht. Mit unserer langjährigen Forschungstradition haben wir seit 2004 über 136 000 Patientenbefragungen durchgeführt. Damit Behandlungen immer besser und sicherer werden.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Forschung.

Wilhelm Schulthess-Stiftung

Die Schulthess Klinik wird seit 1935 von der gemeinnützigen Stiftung – der Wilhelm Schulthess-Stiftung – getragen. Im Mittelpunkt unserer täglichen Arbeit stehen der Mensch, seine Mobilität und Lebensqualität. Wir widmen unsere ganze Kraft der bestmöglichen Versorgung und der raschen Genesung unserer Patientinnen und Patienten. Und mit unserer langjährigen Forschungstradition tragen wir dazu bei, dass Behandlungen immer besser und sicherer werden.

Als Stiftung tätigen wir umfangreiche Investitionen im Bereich Lehre, Forschung und Entwicklung und fördern damit die Projekte unserer Forschungsteams. 

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Wilhelm Schulthess-Stiftung

Zusammenarbeit Schulthess Klinik und ETH Zürich

Mit der ETH Zürich pflegen seit Jahren eine etablierte Kooperation in Forschung und Lehre. Diese Zusammenarbeit integriert klinische Fragen in die ETH-Forschung. So fördert sie die Anwendung neuer Technologien bei der Behandlung von Patienten mit muskuloskelettalen Problemen. 

So freuen wir uns, unter anderem Teil der Reha-Initiative zu sein. Diese soll die Lebensqualität und die Teilhabe von Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen verbessern. Um die Forschung auf diesem Gebiet zu stärken, hat die ETH den neuen Masterstudiengang in «Rehabilitation Science and Technology» ins Leben gerufen. Die Wilhelm Schulthess-Stiftung ermöglicht für diesen Studiengang unter anderem eine Professur für Datenwissenschaften für personalisierte Gesundheit.

Zur Zusammenarbeit mit der ETH gehören auch zahlreiche Lehrveranstaltungen mit unseren Spezialisten. So führen zum Beispiel Forschende und Ärzte der Schulthess Klinik in einer Demowoche Studierende des Studiengangs «Gesundheitswissenschaften und Technologie» in das Thema «Klinische Forschung» ein. Für den Studiengang Humanmedizin findet in der Schulthess Klinik der Kurs «Körperliche Untersuchung des Bewegungsapparats und Nervensystems» statt.

Wir freuen uns, mit dem CYBATHLON 2020 bei einem weiteren spannenden und bedeutenden Projekt der ETH als Partner mit an Bord zu sein.